Since moving to the Andes, I have struggled to adapt my tried-and-true sea level brownie recipes. After a series of fails (collapsed, too dense, too dry, too sweet), I have finally gotten a classic recipe to work to the satisfaction of my testers. And it’s a pretty easy one, to boot!

Yield: one 9×9 in. pan of brownies (which I generally divvy up into 16)

Ingredients / Brands Tested

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
    Smart Selection Aceite de Girasol
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 cup minus 2 tbsp. granulated sugar
    Supermaxi brand
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
    Schullo Azúcar Morena
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
    Bon Gourmet vainilla
  • 2 large eggs
    Supermaxi brand – grande
  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
    YA Harina de Trigo Fortificada Sin Polvo de Hornear
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
    La Universal 100% Polvo de Cacao Sin Azúcar
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
    Cris-Sal Sal Marina Kosher

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

Grease a 9×9 in. baking pan. [I use spray oil.]

In a large bowl, combine the oil, water, sugars, and vanilla. Mix in the eggs until the batter is nice and glossy.

Add the flour, cocoa powder, and salt; mix until just combined.

Pour the batter into the greased baking pan and bake for 28 minutes or until a tester comes out clean.

Allow the brownies to cool fully before you cut them. I like to keep them in the pan for easier cleanup and storage. This particular batch didn’t last long in my house, but I suspect they’d stay yummy for at least 72 hours in an airtight container.

Enjoy!


One response to “Brownies”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started