I begin with the confession that this is actually my fourth attempt to blog this particular recipe. Alas, even in this attempt, I messed up once more! That said, even with my various curses and errors, these beignets seem to come out delicious every time! I guess it’s hard to go wrong with sweet, deep-fried dough…. So, I’ve decided to just go for it and blog this one, even though I botched a step. I’ll indicate the correct instructions below though!

[Note: This is an overnight recipe, so it’s sadly not the kind of thing you can just whip up if you suddenly have a hankering one morning.]
Beignets are tasty, New Orleans-inspired breakfast fare that my crew likes to gobble up with heaps of different fruit jellies and jams. Don’t forget to be generous with the powdered sugar, and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Yield: variable, depending on size preferences — I usually make about 28-32

Ingredients / Brands Tested

  • 2/3 cup lukewarm water
  • 2/3 cup lukewarm milk
    La Lechera Leche Semi-Descremada
  • 2 tbsp. unsalted butter, melted
    Nutri Mantequilla Sin Sal
  • 1 large egg
    Supermaxi brand – grande
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
    La Reposterita Saborizante Sabor a Vainilla
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
    Supermaxi brand
  • 2 tsp. table salt
    Cris-Sal Sal de Mesa
  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
    Harina Buena y Barata Harina de trigo fortificada para todo uso Especial Para Panadería y Pastelería
  • 1 1/4 tsp. yeast
    La Reposterita Levapan Levadura Activa Seca
  • Oil for frying
    SMART Selection Aceite de Girasol
  • Confectioner’s sugar for generous powdering at the end
    San Carlos Azúcar Impalpable Para Repostería

Directions

Combine the water, milk, melted butter, egg, vanilla, sugar, salt, flour, and yeast to make a soft, smooth dough. [Note: I generally use my stand mixer with the dough hook, but this time I used elbow grease and a wooden spoon. Both techniques work.]

Allow the dough to rise, covered, for approximately one hour.

[Note: This is where I botched the current attempt, and I ended up leaving the dough out for waaaaay longer than one hour. The result was that a bit of a hard skin formed over the top of the dough (see photo below — not what you necessarily want to achieve). That said, I was able to selectively scrape that hardened dough off and keep going. My recommendation is that you stick to the one-hour mark for resting on the counter.]

Deflate the dough gently and place it in a well-oiled bowl or large plastic bag that will allow for expansion. Cover and refrigerate overnight.

Remove the dough from the fridge and place it on a well-floured work surface. Use a rolling pin to roll it into a rectangle, approximately 14″ by 10″ in size.

Cut the dough into squares — I aim for 2″ sides, but I can’t say I am particularly precise or fussy about it.

Add frying oil (at least 3/4 inch in depth) to a deep pan or pot. Bring the oil to 360 degrees F (182 degrees C) over medium heat. Once the oil is hot, drop 5-6 squares of dough in. They will sink at first and then quickly rise to the top.

Fry the beignets for about a minute and then use a pair of tongs to flip each over gently. Fry for another minute or so until each is puffy and golden brown all over. [Note: The temperature of your oil will vary throughout the frying process as you add and remove dough, so I recommend using puff and color as your best guide for when each batch is done. Be careful not to let the oil get too hot though, as you run the risk of the beignets looking done while having some raw dough on the inside.]

Remove the finished beignets from the oil with a slotted spoon and drain them on paper towels.

Once the beignets have cooled slightly, powder them generously with confectioner’s sugar and serve while still a little warm. These are intended for immediate consumption, and you shouldn’t have any leftovers!


Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started